Tarot Card of the Day~Eight of Cups Reversed

eight-of-cups

The reversed Eight of Cups suggests that you may be feeling confused about where your best options lie. Part of you wants to explore new horizons and possibilities but another part of your fears that in doing so, you will miss out on what your current circumstances have to offer.

The Eight of Cups reversed also represents knowing when to walk away from a situation that is ultimately not working for you. Even though there are some fundamental issues that have not been resolved, you know that no matter how hard you try these will probably never be resolved. It hurts you to have to walk away with this lack of closure but you know this is what is needed right now. Sometimes, however, there may be a lack of commitment to walking away, whereby one day you are ready to leave and by the next day you are having doubts and wanting to stay.

The reversed Eight of Cups can reflect hopeless, aimless drifting from one place to the next by someone who cannot stand to be confined to just one setting or someone who never quite fits in. You may fear intimacy and have difficulty making and keeping your commitments. When things become too difficult, you quickly escape and leave behind your troubles, rather than dealing with them head on.

Biddy Tarot

_______________________________________________________________

This is my actual Tarot layout for today. I just did four cards because I’m too tired to go into anything more complicated, but I think it tells me a lot about where I am right now.

0916160820

 

The eight of cups reversed crossed with the six of cups suggesting that I’m adrift and unsure of which direction I could take or that I’m contemplating or actually running from my responsibilities. I think I feel like it’s more that I’m adrift right now. I’ve left something behind that I regret as well, but I knew it was the best thing for me. The six of cups crossed over the eight of cups suggests that I’ve forgotten to take care of my inner child or that I’ve forgotten what makes me really happy or that I’ve forgotten what is really important to me.

The next two cards, however represent a more positive near future. The nine of pentacles suggests that in the near future I will get to relax and enjoy the fruits of my labor. It suggests that my self confidence and self assurance will return. It also suggests that I will be in harmony with nature and know how to bring that into my life to benefit my higher self. The next card, the King of Cups suggests that in the near future, I will be more in control of my emotions, which echoes the previous card in the way that it suggests that my self confidence and assurance will return to me. It’s not that I won’t feel my emotions, but that I will be more in control of them, which is a good thing. I hate to be on an emotional rollercoaster. It suggests that I will have a deeper understanding of my feelings and motivations. One of the things the king of cups represents is compassion, which I feel has been intermittent with me for awhile simply because I’m so focused on my chronic pain and trying to figure out how to deal with it. Maybe this card suggests that I will be able to use my experience to help others in similar situations?

While I do feel adrift right now (there is a retrograde happening right now which does tend to make one feel adrift or out of balance), the cards tell me that my near future is very positive and that I will get some emotional healing and restored compassion, self-assurance and confidence. This is good. I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

